For a real taste o'history ...
Old Style Syrups and Traditional Mixers!
The historic brewery was built in 1865 while Beechworth was at the height of the Gold Rush. The original owner was George Billson, hence the name on the building of "Billsons Brewery", however over the next 50 years it underwent a number of name changes until 1916 when the current name of Murray Breweries was established.
The site was chosen because a natural spring occurred here and the pure water has been used in all of the beverages to this day, known now as Snowline Pure Mountain Spring Water.
During the 1920's due to the intervention of a temperance group the production of beer ceased, although Stout continued to be made for another 30 years. It was at this time a soft drink and cordial factory was started.
Today we specialise in turn of the century gourmet cordial mixers of long forgotten flavours made to time honoured recipes and methods.
NEWS & UPCOMING EVENTS
Visit our new interactive Brewery museum open weekdays 10am – 4pm. Find out about the history of brewing and beverage manufacturing in one of Australia’s iconic gold rush towns. Then try our heritage cordial range for yourself at our renowned tasting table. A memorable trip back in time all age groups will enjoy!
presents on behalf of the
of Aust (Victoria)
BEECHWORTH CARRIAGE MUSEUM
Located at Murray Breweries
A collection of twenty horsedrawn vehicles recalling transport of the 19th and 20th century. Many vehicles remain as a direct link with Beechworths' past. Open daily - 10am to 4pm, (closed Sat and Sun in the Winter months).